1812: William Henry Hall to Sarah Ann (Mendenhall) Hall

This remarkable letter was written by William Henry Hall (1782-1860), the son of John and Hannah (Nichols) Hall of Hartford, Connecticut. He was married in 1808 to Susan Ann Mendenhall (1790-1856), the daughter of Thomas and Hannah (Poultney) Mendehall of Savannah, Georgia.

From the letter we learn that William’s wife Sarah is at his parents home in Hartford with her infant daughter Matilda while he remains in Savannah disposing of his property in anticipation of a move of his business and residence to a yet undetermined northern city (that would turn out to be Boston). He informs his wife that he has sold most of their furniture at auction and he has either sold or hired out the Negro slaves that he acquired while residing in Savannah.

With the War of 1812 in progress and while still in Savannah, William also informs his wife that he is in Capt. Cummins local militia and describes an upcoming Thanksgiving Day celebration scheduled for Friday, 1 January 1813 in Savannah.

[Note: This letter is from the private collection of Richard Weiner and is published by express consent.]

TRANSCRIPTION
Addressed to Mrs. Sarah Ann Hall, Hartford, Connecticut

Savannah, [South Carolina]
December 27, 1812

My Dear Wife,

Another fortnight has passed away. I recur to my paper to record it & to give you the history of the events which have occurred to me during that time in the interim of my letters. The last week has been a very busy one with me—but to proceed regularly. I intimated my intention of selling the furniture at auction & requested a list of articles you wished reserved. I found, however, that if I wanted to receive that list that the sale could no take place till after Christmas, & as there would call many people out of town, I was driven to sell before. More particularly as new furniture was very scarce & much wanted. I accordingly advertised for public sale on Wednesday last when it took place. I spent much time in preparing & arranging it so as to show to the best advantage & have received some compliments on its good appearance which, as you are entitled to them, I pass over to you.

The company was large for the small collection I had to offer & the prices paid were liberal, even beyond my expectation. A few of the prices given, I give you viz; side board $55, sofa $75, [ ] Glasses $85, Dining table $54, chairs $4, 2.87, & 2.12 per piece according to different pattern. Fenders and Irons &c. about ¼ more than cost. B___ $55.76 & $40, wardrobe $54, cedar bureau $40, carpets keeping room $41, hall $30, stair $17, & most of the other articles in proportion. A few sold considerably under cost—the card table particularly which only brought $30 (cost $38). On an average, however, more than cost will be realized for the whole so that if we do not have to purchase at a very extravagant rate, we shall do well by the same rates.

Mr. Bilbo was a considerable purchaser. In fact, the greatest. He being just establishing himself in the house owned by Mr. B. that was occupied by Miss McQueen.

On Monday last, I moved to my present quarters at Mr. White’s. George & myself have a tolerably comfortable room to ourselves & thus far I am well satisfied with my fare. Our negros are yet at the house. I have bargained with Thomas for Lucy & her children at $375. He did not wish to take her considering her only as a tax which he must pay for Trim’s sake, & proposed my exchanging George for Trim & then taking all the family with me wherever we settled. This however I refused at once to do, having had a plenty of her services. As yet, I have made no arrangements for Fanny. Thomas having declined taking her on any terms. She appears desirous to take care of herself but I have objected to letting her do it as in case of her getting sick she would be thrown on our hands to take care of her & although I do not wish to make anything from her services, yet I do not wish to have her an expense. Matilda B[artow]. was desirous to have her & Fanny appeared desirous to go with her but Mrs. B[artow] has engaged a woman for a month & cannot take her. Henry I shall sell & George’s fate is not yet determined.

This morning with an anxious heart, I attended the post office & was greeted with your letter of the 15th inst. It has come unusually quick for this season of the year but not half as quick as my anxiety would speed it. It has, however, made me happy for the time & to communicate that happiness to your friends. I have made several calls since church. The information that you  & our dear babe were well appeared to make them all happy. However much I want to see you, I cannot describe & to hear the babe laugh would repay many sufferings.

You ask me to name the easiest day I can when you shall see me. This I cannot now do as everything depends on the situation of our political affairs. If the war is continued & without a prospect of immediate peace, I shall leave here quite as early as I at first contemplated. Should peace take place & the prospects for business be good, I may be induced to a longer expectation conceiving it my duty to do that which appears most for the interest of my family. I, however, do not calculate in any event to prolong my absence beyond the month of May.

Mr. & Mrs. Bartow ¹ arrived about ten days since, both of them with bad cold in consequence of exposure on the road [and] Matilda with a bad cough. I called several times to see them & again this day & find them much better. I shall as you request call very often on them. Matilda is in raptures when speaking of you & her namesake & say, “how much she would give to see you.” She misses your society very much indeed. She has reason to for you certainly was a kind, sociable neighbor for her which she feels doubly in consequence of the absence of Mrs. Maurice.

I hope you have made the contemplated visit to Mary & spent your time agreeably. A change of rooms if not of climate may be serviceable to your health which is the first object of my solicitude.

The Law called the Alleviating Act has passed by which no debts can be sued even to judgment—a disgrace [  ] by it on this state which many years of con___tion & good conduct will not atone for. For myself, I do not know that it can effect me as I believe all my debtors to be honest men who would not take advantage of such an act.

I remembered your directions respecting the keys. I found them without difficulty.

I have made a reserve of all the articles you have named with the addition of the Brussels carpet which are all packed up & will be sent to the store tomorrow & from thence shipped to the port of our next contemplated residence. I feel happy in having anticipated your wishes in regards to them.

I have had some further conversation with Mr. Hill on the subject of forming an establishment in Boston and in the course of four weeks, it is probable we shall determine whether to undertake it or not. I have not consulted you whether it would be agreeable to you, but name it now that you may say how far it will be agreeable & if you are opposed to name it before I conclude, if I should determine to, & I shall await your answer before I come to a conclusion, which you will give immediately on receipt of this. I am aware that you would give a decided preference to New York & if I were to consult happiness only, so should I. But I believe it will be much more for my interest to settle in Boston provided I make the contemplated arrangement. I believe it needless to make use of any arguments to reconcile you to quitting this place—more especially during the war.

All is very quiet here & no one appears to apprehend any more moving as a matter of security. I have joined Capt. [William Clay] Cumming’s Company ² as has Mr. May. Our uniform us a common blue coat & pantaloons with white vest & white plums. In the company are many of the most respectable married inhabitants. Next Friday is to be set apart as a day of Thanksgiving & joy for the success of our Navy. We are to parade & attend a discourse on the occasion, fire a Federal salute, & in the evening a ball & supper is to be given by the Corporation to which the citizens generally are invited. I expect there will be a rare collection of ladies if the House is not much crowded. I will attend in uniform merely to make remarks in the collection for, as to dancing, I expect that will be out of the question. I shall, however rejoice in the occasion as heartily as the best Democrat in the county.

Christmas Day was warm & pleasant. I was working at the house without my coat all the morning. The afternoon I spent at Mr. Sturgis’ where I dined with a few acquaintances. The party was pleasant & the dining excellent. I have no local new to communicate. Tell Father I have received both halves of the 50 dollar note. Mr. May is well. Kiss Matilda for me. Give best love to the family & accept the assurance of affectionate regard. From your husband


¹ Rev. John Vanderbilt Bartow (1787-1836) was married to Matilda Wilson Stewart (1790-1862). Rev. Bartow graduated at Columbia College, N. Y., in 1806. The same year he prepared a short genealogy of the family, now in the possession of his daughter, Mrs Montell. Studying for the ministry under Bishop Benjamin Moore, he was ordained Deacon at a special ordination held in S. George’s Chapel, N. Y., Dec., 13th, 1807, and Priest, Nov 2, 1810. His first charge was S. Michael’s, Bloomingdale, N. Y., when after two years he became Rector of Christ Church, Savannah. While Rector there he married Matilda Wilson, daughter of Archibald and Phoebe Helen Stewart, by whom he had three sons and four daughters. They were married in N. Y. City by “Parson Bartow” in 1811; and, in 1815, he was Rector of Trinity Church, Baltimore, till his death, July 14, 1836 in Perth Amboy, while on a visit to his brother-in-law, B. Maurice, Esq.

² William Clay Cummings was Captain of the Augusta Independent Blues during the War of 1812. He was commissioned Major, U.S.A., in 1813, and appointed Adjutant General of the Northern Army the following year with the rank of Colonel. In 1815, however, he resigned from the Army and the Board of War, on which he served. Although in 1818 he was appointed Quartermaster General of the Army by President Monroe and, in 1847, Major General by President Polk, he declined both appointments and spent the remainder of his life in Augusta.

Leave a comment